The Town Hall is deeply appreciative to the following organizations’ inspirational and gratifying support.

  • Lemberg Foundation

  • McGraw-Hill Companies

  • Mex-Am Cultural Foundation

  • Morgan Stanley

  • New York City Council

  • New York City Department of Cultural Affairs

  • New York State Council on the Arts

  • Henry Nias Foundation

  • Peek Family Foundation

  • PricewaterhouseCoopers

  • Royal Realty Company

  • Rudin Foundation

  • Shubert Foundation

  • TD Charitable Foundation

  • Theatre Refreshments

  • Ticketmaster

  • Wenner Foundation

  • Zegar Family Foundation

  • Accion Cultural Espanola

  • Achelis and Bodman Foundation

  • The Actors Fund

  • Bank of America

  • Charina Endowment Fund

  • Consolidated Edison Company of New York

  • Ernst & Young

  • Ford Foundation

  • Anne and Gordon Getty Foundation

  • Joan Hornig Jewelry

  • Hyde and Watson Foundation

  • Jewish Communal Fund

  • The Karma Foundation

  • Edythe Kenner Foundation



Friend of the Arts Award

The Town Hall Friend of the Arts Award is presented annually to individuals in recognition and appreciation of their abiding interest in the development, enrichment and support of the arts.  The award, established in 1981, consists of a hand-lettered certificate of appreciation, a bronze plaque permanently affixed to a seat in the theatre commemorating the occasion, and a photograph of the awardee displayed in The Town Hall Friend of the Arts Gallery.

Previous Awardees

2018: Laurie Anderson, Charlie Hull, Robert Hurwitz
2017: Daryl Roth and Roberta Flack
2016: A Prairie Home Companion featuring Garrison Keillor and Jennifer J. Raab
2015: Paul Libin and K.T. Sullivan
2014: Bank of America, and George Wein
2013: Judy Collins, and Robert E. Wankel
2012: Dr. Charlotte K. Frank, and Marvin Leffler
2011: Dr. Joyce Brown, and Judith Jamison
2010: Barbara & Scott Siegel, Elaine Stritch, and Meryl H. Tisch
2009: Tovah Feldshuh, and T Phillip J. Smith
2008: Sharon Dunn, Fyvush Finkel, and Lawrence C. Zucker
2007: Lilian Vernon, and Sir George Shearing
2006: Barbara Cook. and Judy & Michael Steinhardt
2005: Laurie M. Tisch, and Peter Yarrow
2004: Sheldon Harnick, and Morris W. Offit
2003: Paul LeClerc, and Wendy Wasserstein
2002: Bobby Short, and Mortimer B. Zuckerman
2001: Theodore Bikel, and Michael Sovern
2000: Jacques d’Amboise, and Muriel Siebert
1999: L. Jay Oliva, and George Weissman
1998: Vartan Gregorian, and Andrea Marcovicci
1997: Jane Alexander, and John W. Kluge
1996: Agnes Gund, Lewis Rudin, and Julie Wilson
1995: Betty Comden & Adolph Green, and Senator Roy M. Goodman
1994: Anne Jackson & Eli Wallach, and Vincent Sardi, Jr.   
1993: Tony Bennett, and Bill Green
1992: James R. Cherry, and Dizzy Gillespie
1991: Victor Borge
1990: Marilyn Horne
1989: Joseph Papp
1988: Beverly Sills
1987: Martin E. Segal
1986: Helen Hayes
1985: Celeste Holm
1984: Dina Merrill
1983: Kitty Carlisle Hart
1982: Gerald Schoenfeld
1981: John Brademas