About Broadway By the Year:


The critically acclaimed series has blossomed from an idea to what Show Business Weekly deems, "…an invaluable and entertaining jewel in the cabaret crown of New York." Ticket sales have soared and stellar reviews have included The New York Times, which calls it, "Witty, breezily paced. . .informative. . .valuable. . .the right perspective of lighthearted nostalgia..."

Author/Critic Scott Siegel created the series for Town Hall, which he writes and hosts. Siegel takes audiences of all ages on a musical tour of the Great White Way, offering an entertaining verbal account of Broadway’s history. Each evening celebrates the songs from Broadway shows of a selected year, sung by a cast of talented cabaret and Broadway performers. This marvelous program not only highlights favorite show-stopping numbers, it also features lesser-known gems.

Past performances featured stars like Alice Ripley, Liz Callaway, Tom Wopat, Brian D'arcey James, Chuck Cooper, Heather MacRae, Davis Gaines, Sally Mayes, Bryan Batt, Chip Zien, Sharon McNight, Mark Coffin, and Christina Bianco with musical direction by Ross Paterson.

February 27: The 1920's (Cole Porter, Rodgers & Hart, Irving Berlin) Tickets

March 27: The 1940's (Rodgers & Hammerstein, Kurt Weill, Leonard Bernstein) Tickets

May 22: 1997-2006 (Stephen Sondheim, Frank Wildhorn) Tickets

June 19: 2007-2016 (Lin-Manuel Miranda, Mel Brooks, and more) Tickets

                                            Official Sponsor                               Additional support provided by the                                 EDYTHE KENNER FOUNDATION

                                            Official Sponsor

                             Additional support provided by the
                                EDYTHE KENNER FOUNDATION