Philip Glass premiered Music in Twelve Parts at Town Hall in 1974.

Music in Twelve Parts, written by Philip Glass between 1971 and 1974, is a deliberate, encyclopedic compendium of some techniques of repetition the composer had been evolving since the mid 1960s. It holds an important place in Glass’s repertory – not only from a historical vantage point (as the longest and most ambitious concert piece for the Philip Glass Ensemble) but from a purely aesthetic standard as well, because Music in Twelve Parts is both a massive theoretical exercise and a deeply engrossing work of art. (Tim Page)

The entire set is over four hours long plus three intermissions: two short ones, lasting 15 minutes, and a “dinner intermission” that is 75 minutes long.

6:00PM -6:45PM: Parts 1, 2, 3 
Intermission: 15 minutes
7:00PM -7:45PM: Parts 4, 5, 6 
Dinner Break: 75 minutes
9:00PM -9:45PM: Parts 7, 8, 9 
Intermission: 15 minutes
10:00PM -10:45PM: Parts 10, 11, 12

Special dinner reservation and menu options at local restaurants will be provided to ticket buyers in advance of the date.

$55, $65, $75, $85


Presented by:
Town Hall Presents